Things are on the up- good news

The last few months have been a bit of a daze for me.

A lot of things have happened and life is getting better day by day.

To all my new readers- thank you so much for your support. I promise I will write back to you all soon.

Rabindra and I have just got back from a few weeks in New Zealand.

We had a lovely break and WE GOT ENGAGED!!

It happened at the top of the Remarkables in Queenstown! Rabindra and I had been talking about getting engaged for a while but I stopped thinking about it because he never mentioned it.

We’ve been together for nearly 3 years so I knew it was going to happen at some point but was in complete shock when it finally happened.

We had just got the cable car up to the highest point possible then we had to trek up to the peak. After about an hour of feeling like we were on top of the world, I started to head back down the mountain.

Whilst I was heading down, he asked me to come back up to “show me something”. I hesitantly agreed and that’s when he got down on one knee and presented a box with a gold diamond ring.

Of course I said yes 🙂 I wasn’t crying but I felt really emotional and just overwhemingly happy.

Rabindra also requested permission from my dad before we left for overseas. Dad had kept it a secret so I was quite impressed with them both!

So that’s part 1 of good news.

In other good news, we have made some important moves forward for his visa.

Immigration to Australia is a long, drawn-out and stressful journey but I hope with all my heart that it will work out for us.

I spoke to Rabindra’s dad (buwah) on the phone for the first time before we left for NZ.

In broken Nepali, I managed to have a 10 second conversation with him.

Apparently I’m the talk of the family at the moment and they are all asking about when we are coming to visit.

He even asked Rabindra to buy some chocolate and give to me as a gesture of welcoming me into the family. So cute

Nepal and India are on the horizon. Not long now but I feel like I can almost begin to plan our trip- something I have dreamnt about every day for the past 2+ years 🙂

P.S. Will put some pics up of NZ soon!!

This entry was posted in Engagement, Family, Immigration, Intercultural, Intercultural Relationship, Love, Nepal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Things are on the up- good news

  1. Congratulations I’m so happy for you both 🙂

  2. KC says:

    Major congrats to you!!! Your ring is lovely and I’m very happy for you 🙂 Can’t wait to hear the wedding planning details.

  3. lkafle says:

    cool lovely great wonderful

  4. americanepali says:

    Hurray! Congratulations! 🙂

  5. Love in London says:

    Gorgeous ring! All the best for you and your families xx

  6. Neo says:

    Congratulations!

  7. saathi says:

    yay!!! Big congrats to you 🙂

  8. nepali jiwan says:

    Congratulations! I love the ring 🙂

  9. Taswin says:

    Wow Casey congratulations that’s so lovely 🙂

  10. Anisah says:

    Congratulations!!! Have you set a date yet?

    Anisah

  11. lkafle says:

    great great wooww

  12. Padmini says:

    I’m very happy for you, sending you warm wishes of joy!

  13. Thank you everyone for your kind remarks!!

  14. kay says:

    Hey there! Can’t believe I missed this post. Congratulations!

  15. I hope you have a long and happy life together. I am really happy for you both. Best wishes for the future.

  16. Shreeman says:

    Congratulations! So happy for you guys.

  17. wow…….just wow…..its kinda a story
    welcome to NEPAL…..now U are too a Nepali…………………..
    Till now everything seems working good to u…..hope to read more of ur story…………….

  18. Congrats’ I am really happy for you both! Have a wonderful life together ahead!

Leave a Reply

