Where my heart belongs

I’ve always been a bit of an unusual, unconventional person.

I started becoming a very independent thinker when I first attended university to study my Bachelor of Journalism.

I learnt so much about the world and the way it operates. The rich and the poor and the governments that make them, the power of education and the small-mindedness of so many Westerners.

Looking back, I guess I was never going to meet and fall in love with an Australian man because it was just not me (but then again I never expected to fall in love with a Nepalese man either).

Anyway, back at uni I I liked to drink and party like all the other ‘cool kids’ but I found I was not talking about what other normal girls would chat about like guys, parties and sex (ok there was a bit of that hehe!)

But instead, I found myself talking about social justice issues, politics, human rights, refugees, corruption, wars and, ultimately, I had a thirst to find out more about ‘the other side of the story’- the stories of people suffering, those without a voice.

What was happening in Sudan, Cambodia or Pakistan was of more interest to me than what happened at last night’s party.

I’ve learnt to appreciate how lucky we are to be born into a free place like Australia and I’m not the type of person to complain about high taxes and all the government’s misdealings simply because I know how other people in the world have it.

It was pretty expected that I would thrive in an area like journalism because most journalists are worldly types of people who get into journalism because they want to give a voice to the victims.

As part of my journey, I made some very good friends who thought like me. Friends who cared about stuff in the world that no-else cared about and actually did something about it, even if it’s just in a small way.

These people have played a big part in shaping the person I am today.

They have not judged me for falling in love with a brown man and in many ways, have been my rock through all the hard times (but that’s a topic for my next post).

Even though I’m not a well-travelled person, my love for other cultures and experiences is immense.

I really want to help the people of Nepal who have not been born into a life of opportunity like I have.

My life has been personally enriched my meeting Rabindra but I’m also thankful that I get to be a part of this amazing culture and their people.

Nearly every day I think about how I can make a difference in Nepal.

For now, I’m not sure exactly what that will be and how is the best way to do it.

Even though I haven’t visited there yet (and I’ve been warned countless times about culture shock which I’m sure I will experience), I feel now, that no matter what happens to me, my heart belongs to Nepal.

I’m forever indebted to Nepal. It’s the place that gave me the person who makes me smile absolutely every day.

This entry was posted in Love, Nepal, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Where my heart belongs

  1. amanda says:

    awww i am such a baby. This made me cry.

    • Ohhh i didn’t mean to make you cry. i know u would be sensitive right now. i think we can relate so much to the whole “where my heart belongs line”. stay strong girl x

      • zonnie says:

        i am an australian women in love with a nepelase man – and to make matters worse he works for me.. i love him ,,he loves me.. but i constantly find challenges with our relationship every day.. and i have read all you have wrote and i cried and i also feel the same and have experienced all you ahve written about… how can i make it work with my nepalese partner? i feel lost as i love him, want to marry him and dont want to lose him, but we are so different and i feel i cant say all i want to say here fear to others reading and taking this the wrong way 🙂

  2. When you visit in Nepal then your heart will belongs to Australia

  3. ally says:

    Casey
    Lovely post ! I have a feeling your going thrive in Nepal, I wouldnt worry to much about culture shock, some of us just hit the ground running, like we were meant to be there, I know I did.

  4. Abby says:

    You are already doing your bit for Nepal, even if you don’t realise it yet. By sharing your story (in real life and on this blog) you are teaching others about this culture and about the battle to stay together.

    When you finally get to do your travelling, it will be wonderful and so worth the wait. But don’t let that lack of travel experience make you think you can’t contribute to the worldy people’s conversations! You are one of the most caring, open-minded and cultured people I know. And I can’t wait to see what wonderful things you’ll do for the world in the future!

  5. lkafle says:

    absolutely perfect write up

  6. Padmini says:

    I wholeheartedly agree. A little over a year ago, the most I new about Nepal was it was a country, somewhere in Asia (but hey, that’s a pretty big place). Then I left my abusive American husband and moved into a house where I could only afford to live with the help of two random roommates. An Indian and a Nepali. Little did I know, that I would fall head over heels (despite my best efforts) in love with the Nepali. I’ve not gone to Nepal yet, but I feel like my whole life, its where they other half of my soul has been.

  7. Bex says:

    I havent been to my husbands home country yet either, with all the visa fees and limitations we just havent had the money. Im terrified of going, not even because of the culture shock, Ive travelled quite a bit in South America (not quite the same cultural difference, but still) but Im so scared of meeting the inlaws! i know the traditions and places of women in that tradition are so different to ours here in Australia. And Im so worried of what they will think of this buxom tall smoking Aussie woman! Ive never been good at submissiveness, but Im quite good with being polite though I dont know Nepali. To be honest Im also scared of offending someone because I sometimes find it hard to eat weird meats… and i know the kind of meat my husband craves! i wonder if I can just be a vegetarian in Nepal… lol
    Anyway we’re trying to put plans together to get over there in winter next year. I do really look forward to the shopping!

  8. lkafle says:

    thats cool , yes

  9. B says:

    hi gals, how are ya?? was jus surfing the net and thought i ll do a search on a similar topic and found White gal in sari topic. so interesting and could relate so much..im a nepalese guy, living in sydney, my wife is australian. we have been together for nearly 7 years and married (in australia and nepal) for 4. she has been to kathmandu (thats where my family is from) with me 2 times and absolutely loves it. We have a year old lil gal and couldnt ask for more happiness that she has brought to us in life. she is the star of our eyes. hehehe. but the family problems and cultural difference we went thru together especially in last 2 yrs has been really really hard. Mixed relation is always hard especially in situation like mine when we are always hanging around with my side of the family (as her family moved to hunter valley about 10 yrs ago) where every one only talks in nepali 90% of the time, i guess thats where the “GAP” starts. but i guess thats how it is and its hard to change. and i guess live goes on..
    so where you gals from?? Casey, u n your husband Rabi from sydney too??

    Will chat to yous again soon..

    Take care.

    B
    Sydney

    • Hey B, we live in Brisbane. I feel for your wife. It’s not easy being in a situation where you cant understand people. It can be frustrating and lonely. Your little daughter sounds so cute!

  10. sagar chhetteri says:

    wow…like ur post so much…wish you both great days ahead….namaskar dai and vauju(brother’s wife)

Leave a Reply

