A New Year; a time for life-changing events

First of all Merry Christmas to all my delightful readers. Rabindra and I travelled back to my home and then had a lovely week off together in Brisbane.

 I had a truly wonderful Christmas break catching up with my family and friends. We played cards, ate heaps of turkey, ham and chocolate and enjoyed chilling with the family.

Rabindra even asked me who Santa was. I couldn’t stop laughing. It was actually really cute because it reminded me how far removed his culture is from mine and yet here we were together enjoying it. For those of you interested to know, I described Santa, to my 28-year-old other half, as “the big, fat man dressed in red with the white beard. You know the one who sits in the shopping centre with all the screaming kids”. Yep, it certainly was Christmas time.

Happy New Year to you all. I hope this year brings you a wealth of happiness, friendship, love and good times.

2011 is going to be a life-changing year for us.

We are waiting on big news from immigration which is going to have a profound effect on our future.

All our family and friends are behind us, supporting us all the way, and we just pray with every might of us that it’s all going to work out okay.

At Christmas time I was thinking about where we will be in the world for Christmas in 2011. It’s really scary stuff but at the same time, it’s life and we must look forward, not back.

On a more personal front, I’ve got a few major things I want to do this year.

1. Go to Nepal!! It’s going to happen this year, not sure when, but it will happen and it will truly be the most special thing to ever happen to me. I have this intense and surreal connection to this place I’ve never visited. I’m most looking forward to meeting Rabindra’s family and friends.

2. Be more healthy. Lots of exercise and eating well! (going to need to be fit to walk up all the hills in Nepal)

3. Improve my Nepali language. Getting there, slowly but surely, with the help of my trusty iphone which has some great Nepalese language apps on there. Totally recommend it to C!

4. Be more creative- Blog more. Write more.

5. Save up some cash for overseas trips (namely Nepal) and for a deposit on a unit for us.

6. Lastly, to give out more than love than receive. Do more for others. Put some sunshine into other people’s lives.

 What are your hopes and ambitions for 2011?

This entry was posted in Cross-cultural, Culture, Differences, Family, Festivals, Immigration, Intercultural, Intercultural Relationship, Language, Love, Nepal, Nepalese language and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A New Year; a time for life-changing events

  1. americanepali says:

    I guess I need an i-phone now! 😉

  2. Abby says:

    I’m sure no matter what comes your way in 2011, you will make the most of it. I really like your resolution to bring happiness to more people’s lives. One of my goals this year is to return formal study in Chinese. 🙂

  3. BB says:

    Girl!!!!
    Get yourself to Nepal as soon as possible! October/November is best if you want to go trekking. Originally from California, I first came to Nepal in 2005 and never wanted to leave! I now live in a rural area in Nepal with my husband (whom I met doing the Annapurna circuit) and I LOVE IT!!! Nepal will surpass all your expectations!

    • i was so excited when i read your comment. trust me i am doing my hardest to get there this year. We’ll be in a village near pokhara for most of the time. is your hubbie nepali or american? do you work or volunteer at all?

      • BB says:

        Hi!
        My husband is Indian but has lived most of his life in Nepal. We have a small business but I’d hardly describe it as ‘work’. Volunteering in Nepal is different than what you’d expect……often you have to pay a fee to volunteer!

Leave a Reply

