Cooking Nepali style

I used to be a pretty terrible cook.

I was really never taught how to cook when I was younger and I guess it set the pattern for most of my early adult years.

But when I met Rabindra, I started learning more about herbs, spices and a whole heap of weird and wonderful vegetables I’d never heard of before.

The first Nepalese food I learnt to make was dhal bhat comprising lentils (dhal), meat, usually chicken, and bhat (rice).

It didn’t take me long to realise that being able to cook good food was important for our relationship.

It may be old-fashioned but in countries like Nepal, nearly 99% of women do all the cooking and cleaning.

However it’s very different for us. We share the cooking and cleaning pretty evenly and because I work full-time, I can’t always be home early enough to cook dinner.

I set Rabindra’s world of fire when he realised I could actually cook decent Nepalese food.

I guess it’s true when people say that the way to a man’s happiness is through his stomach. Haha

When I cook for Rabindra’s friends they are shocked that I can cook momos and dhal bhat!

Momos...the light of my life, jokes

I actually really love Nepalese food. It’s very tasty and because he is so far away from home, and missing his mum and her cooking, it’s great that we can connect through learning and creating different Nepalese foods.

We both take turns cooking although I am beginning to enjoy it more and more. It’s become a bit of a hobby of mine and I prefer to cook.

Rabindra is getting used to other foods I make including pastas, salads and roast and now he quite enjoys it.

I must admit, I can still not stomach goat (the absolute favourite meat in Nepal). Rabindra looooovess goat. But alas, I do not like it.

I have made a few major changes though-

*I never used to coriander and now I put it on everything!

 *I used to eat meat every day and now we eat vegetarian once or twice a week which would be a shock to anyone who knows me!

*The biggest change of all though, is that this steak-loving Aussie barely eats beef at home anymore. Because Rabindra doesn’t eat beef, it’s too hard to cook beef for myself and something else for him.

Here is a list of Nepali food I cook:

-Momos (dumplings…yumm)

-Roti (more of an Indian food but still!)

-Dhal Bhat (using a variety of vegetable, chicken, pork, lamb)

-Cauli thakari

-Sag

-Chicken sande ko

I also love cooking Indian curries but I haven’t perfected these yet.

I’m still on the hunt to learn more Nepalese/Indian food so I’d love it if you can share some recipes and I’d be happy to share my recipes as well!

This entry was posted in Cross-cultural, Culture, Food and cooking, Intercultural Relationship, Nepal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cooking Nepali style

  1. americanepali says:

    I recommend this cookbook (http://americanepali.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/nepali-cooking-a-recommendation/) her cooking style is a little more fancy than what people eat day-to-day, but it gives you a good foundation.

    I love making mattar paneer. I’d be happy to share the recipe… its relatively fast and tasty!

    I can’t imagine life without momos anymore… so good! Is that picture above your momos? If so, your folding style is excellent! I’m not good at making the round ones! 🙂

  2. Thanks I’ll check out the link 😉
    My momos aren’t as perfect as our friend’s (in the photo) but my wrapping style is pretty decent, I picked it up fairly quickly

  3. Cnc says:

    I’m also still learning…my husband likes to try to teach me, but since we have a cook, we rarely cook…once we are on our own I’ll learn more!!

    I can make a decent cuppa tea he says though!!! lol

  4. badbhabi says:

    Agree with CNC!!

    Lovely blog post though!

    🙂

    Chai is about the only thing I make, however Vishav and I do love to get creative in the kitchen.

    When I went to India I thought it would be the ultimate opportunity to learn cooking from the best (Mummy) however she would always send me away from the kitchen and refuse to allow me to life a finger!

    Cooking is still a huge section of my ‘to do list’!!

    Kudos to you!!

  5. laurel hopper says:

    wow nice momos! I can only make dhal bhat and curried chickpeas.

  6. Bianca says:

    Damn you, I’m starving and now craving some nepalise food so bad!! And I’m so far away from you guys who can actually cook decently, or my beloved Tibetan Kitchen. Mmmmmm yummmmy!

  7. Diane says:

    Hey Case,
    I tried cooking Nepalese food the other night and it was kinda flavourless. I need more lessons :(.

  8. Prabesh says:

    I donno the recipes by momos is def like the national food of Nepal/Tibet. Everytime i got to nyc or even here in dc, i always eat momo at nepalese resturants. I would recommend some good food from back home like thukpa (noodles), choela, kachela, bhutaan, thedo, there is too many for me to list. btw my family eats momos everyonce in a while. Something we cant live with or lets no nepalese can.

  9. ~rangi-changi~ says:

    I can make a fairly decent dal bhat with alu gobi, also some rich Punjabi dishes like paneer makhani, which I don’t make too often because it’s so fattening. I made the ‘mula ko achaar’ from the Nepali cookbook and it came out dherai dherai mitho. I haven’t tried to make momos yet – we are lucky that we can take a short subway ride and get some. One of these days I want to try to make ‘C’ momos, which I have never seen in any restaurant outside of Nepal. I also want to make the yogurt dish ‘sikarni’ – seems like it would be pretty good with Greek yogurt, which is the closest I have found to the incomparable Bhaktapur dahi I inhaled when I was in Nepal on an almost daily basis.

  10. B @ DesiGrub says:

    If you don’t like goat substitute with Australian lamb. Maybe it will grow on you.

  11. Biju chetri says:

    Hi I’m Biju chetri .
    sadiya santipur(Assam)
    village-Naharbari
    email-bijuchetri7@gmail.com
    phone-7401631300
    cooking Nepali style.The first nepalese food I learnt to make was dhal bhat and gunduruk alu comprising lentils dhal meat usually chiecken and dhal .I can make a fairly decent dal bhat with alu gobi also some raice.

  12. Robin says:

    We adopted our little girl from an orphanage in Nepal 2.5 years ago. i want to cook Nepali food for her on her birthday every year. Luckily, we have friends from Nepal that celebrate with us in the US.

Leave a Reply

